[development] Use revisions to replace previews
david at fourkitchens.com
Thu Jun 7 18:58:30 UTC 2007
With clever use of revisions, we could eliminate the preview system
entirely from the codebase.
Here's how it would work. If a user clicks Preview, it creates a new
revision but does not mark it as the current revision. The preview seen
is the new revision rendered. If a user clicks Save, it creates a new
revision *and* marks it as the live one. Optionally, we could then
delete the interim preview revisions.
Another advantage to this is that a user can work on a node, preview it,
and have their work saved. If a user comes back and edits the node with
unsaved previews, they can choose to work from the latest preview or the
latest public revision.
I know Drupal 6 goes a long way to fixing previews, but this would
eliminate all inconsistency.
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Size: 186 bytes
Desc: OpenPGP digital signature
Url : http://lists.drupal.org/pipermail/development/attachments/20070607/77dab8c8/attachment.pgp
More information about the development